reflective journal (5)

In my Unit 5 (Video production) I wrote a short essay of 1000+ words about conventions of music videos, in which I analysed the following music video – KSI (On Point), Ed Sheehan (Shape Of You) and Foolishness (410). I also researched and wrote about the historical context of music videos and the purpose of music videos. This essay really helped me understand the differences between the music genres and the background of music videos.

I also worked with my group of 3 people and created, presented a Pitch and Proposal of a song Neverlands by notes. We all created individual presentation and then took the best bits of each presentation and created one. In my presentation I researched the profile of the artist, meaning of the lyrics, created my own narrative of the music video, researched possible locations to film at, found video references, listed equipment that I will need, created a filming schedule and lastly created my own unique selling point. The task was very useful was it helped me a lot with an actual filming.

I then created short mood board, story board and mind map for my music video, which later on reminded me on what my group should focus on. I then also created a script, which was very useful for the intro of my music video, as the lines of my script was said by the performer. Lastly I also created a call sheet in which I listed the places where we were planning to film, our numbers and emails in case of emergency, police and medic stations.

Everything listed above ^^ was my individual work, Therefore as group we done the following together –

  • Production schedule
  • Role and responsibilities within production
  • Location recees
  • Budget form
  • Risk assesment
  • Music video

 

In the music video filming my I took part in, by being the main camera man as well as helping to direct the music video. The whole production of music video was very useful in terms of giving practical experience to me and my group. I developed my camera skills as well as creativity. I also learned to use lighting in a right way, and got to experiment with different camera angles/shots.

Leave a comment